City of Carrollton



Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 4483 Version: 1 Name: DCAD Nomination 2020

Type:ResolutionStatus:PassedFile created:9/3/2019In control:City CouncilOn agenda:9/10/2019Final action:9/10/2019

Title: Consider A Resolution Nominating A Candidate To Be A Member Of The Board Of Directors For The

Denton Central Appraisal District.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. DCAD RESOLUTION with Nomination

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

9/10/2019 1 City Council

CC MEETING: September 10, 2019

DATE: September 3, 2019

TO: Erin Rinehart, City Manager

FROM: Bob Scott, Assistant City Manager

Consider A Resolution Nominating A Candidate To Be A Member Of The Board Of Directors For The Denton Central Appraisal District.

BACKGROUND:

The Property Tax Code, Section 6.03 requires that an election or appointment of members to the Board of Directors of a Central Appraisal District (CAD) be conducted in odd number years. The term of office is two years, beginning in even number years. Denton and Collin CADs use a similar process for nomination and election. All taxing units elect all directors with a total of 5,000 votes being divided by taxing unit based on the relative size of the units tax levy. Dallas CAD has the City of Dallas, Dallas ISD and Dallas County appoint one director each with all remaining school districts electing a director and all remaining cities electing a director. In 2017, the City Council successfully nominated Roy Atwood for a Denton CAD Director position. Mr. Atwood has expressed a desire to continue in this role. In addition, the city has also been contacted by Bryan Webb and David Terre requesting that the City nominate them. The City may nominate up to five candidates and has 116 of 5,000 votes to cast. No one has contacted the city expressing desire to serve on the board of either Collin or Dallas CADs.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION/ACTION DESIRED:

Select a candidate and approve the attached resolution nominating the candidate for the Denton Central Appraisal District's Board of Directors.